

REGIONAL DISTRICT OF OKANAGAN-SIMILKAMEEN

BOARD of DIRECTORS MEETING

Thursday, August 18, 2022 RDOS Boardroom 101 Martin Street, Penticton, BC V2A 5J9

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Chair M. Pendergraft, Electoral Area "A"	Director S. Monteith, Electoral Area "I"
	Vice Chair S. Coyne, Town of Princeton	Director R. Knodel, Electoral Area "C"
	Director K. Kozakevich, Electoral Area "E"	Director R. Obirek, Electoral Area "D"
	Director M. Bauer, Village of Keremeos	Director T. Roberts, Electoral Area "G"
	Director G. Bush, Electoral Area "B"	Director K. Robinson, City of Penticton
	Director B. Coyne, Electoral Area "H"	Director J. Sentes, City of Penticton
	Director R. Gettens, Electoral Area "F"	Director E. Trainer, District of Summerland
	Director D. Holmes, District of Summerland	Director J. Vassilaki, City of Penticton
	Director M. Johansen, Town of Oliver	Director S. McKortoff, Town of Osoyoos
	Alt. Director J. Bloomfield, City of Penticton	
MEMBERS ABSENT:	Director C. Watt, City of Penticton	
STAFF PRESENT:	B. Newell, Chief Administrative Officer	C. Malden, Manager of Legislative Services

The meeting was called to order at 12:00 pm.

A. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOVED and SECONDED

That the Agenda for the RDOS Board Meeting of August 18, 2022 be adopted.-CARRIED

A.1 Consent Agenda – Corporate Issues

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Consent Agenda Corporate Services be adopted.-CARRIED

- 1. Advisory Planning Commissions
 - 1. 20220711 APC A MIN-Minutes

THAT the Minutes of the July 11, 2022 Electoral Area "A" APC meeting be received.

2. 20220719 APC C MIN-Minutes

THAT the Minutes of the July 19, 2022 Electoral Area "C" APC meeting be received.

3. 20220820 APC I MIN-Minutes

THAT the Minutes of the July 20, 2022 Electoral Area "I" APC meeting be received.

2. Community Services Committee

THAT the Minutes of the August 4, 2022 Community Services Committee meeting be received.

3. Corporate Services Committee

THAT the Minutes of the August 4, 2022 Corporate Services Committee meeting be received.

4. Environment and Infrastructure Committee

THAT the Minutes of the August 4, 2022 Environment and Infrastructure Committee meeting be received.

5. RDOS Regular Board Meeting

THAT the minutes of the August 4, 2022 RDOS Regular Board meeting be adopted.

B. DEVELOPMENT SERVICES – Rural Land Use Matters

B.1 Agricultural Land Commission Referral (Non-Farm Use) – Electoral Area "C" (C2022.008-ALC)

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the application to continue operating an eating and drinking establishment as a non-farm use on the parcel located at 3692 Fruitvale Way be "authorized" to proceed to the Agricultural Land Commission. **-CARRIED**

B.2 Zoning Bylaw Amendment – Electoral Area "C" (C2022.009-ZONE)

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT Bylaw No. 2800.14, 2022, a bylaw to amend the Okanagan Valley Zoning Bylaw to allow for eight livestock to be kept on the property at 479 Johnson Crescent in Willowbrook be denied.-CARRIED

B.3 Zoning Bylaw Amendment – Electoral Area "A", "C", "D", "E", "F", and "I" (X2022.007-ZONE)

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT Bylaw No. 2800.02, 2022, a bylaw to amend the Okanagan Valley Zoning Bylaw to introduce new regulations and definitions for "mobile vendors", be adopted.-CARRIED

C. FINANCE

C.1 Administrative Overhead Policy Amendments

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Administrative Overhead Policy be adopted as amended.-CARRIED

D. LEGISLATIVE SERVICES

D.1 South Okanagan Conservation Fund-Technical Advisory Committee Appointments

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Board of Directors extend the appointments of the following as volunteer members of the South Okanagan Conservation Fund Technical Advisory Committee.

Two year term ending December 31, 2023

- Orville Dyer
- Darcy Henderson
- Ellen Simmons
- Laura Machial
- Timothy Grey
- Tara White-CARRIED

E. CAO REPORTS

- E.1 Verbal Update
- E.2 Wildfire Update:

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the Board extend the declaration of the state of local emergency for Area "I" until August 18, 2022.-CARRIED

F. OTHER BUSINESS

- F.1 Chair's Report
- F.2 Board Representation
 - 1. Municipal Finance Authority Pendergraft (Chair), Coyne (Vice Chair, Alternate)
 - 2. Municipal Insurance Association *Pendergraft (Chair), Coyne (Vice Chair, Alternate)*

Board of Directors

- 3. Okanagan Basin Water Board McKortoff, Holmes, Knodel, Pendergraft (Alternate to McKortoff), Obirek (Alternate to Holmes), Monteith (Alternate to Knodel)
- 4. Okanagan Film Commission Gettens, Obirek (Alternate)
- 5. Okanagan Regional Library Monteith, Obirek (Alternate)
- 6. Okanagan-Kootenay Sterile Insect Release Board Bush, Pendergraft (Alternate)
- 7. Southern Interior Municipal Employers Association Knodel, Pendergraft (Alternate)
- 8. Starling Control Bush, Knodel (Alternate)
- 9. Fire Chief Liaison Committee Pendergraft, Knodel, Monteith, Obirek, Roberts
- 10. Intergovernmental Indigenous Joint Council Pendergraft, Coyne, Roberts
- 11. Okanagan-Similkameen Regional Hospital District Johansen, McKortoff (Alternate)
- F.3 **Directors Motions**
- Board Members Verbal Update F.4

CLOSED SESSION G.

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT in accordance with Section 90(1)(e)of the Community Charter, the Committee close the meeting to the public on the basis of the acquisition, disposition or expropriation of land or improvements, if the council considers that the disclosure could reasonably be expected to harm the interests of the municipality.-CARRIED

The Board entered a closed session at 12:46 pm and returned at 12:49 pm.

ADJOURNMENT Н.

MOVED and SECONDED

THAT the meeting adjourn at 12:49 pm.-CARRIED

APPROVED:

APPROVED:

B. Newell Corporate Officer

Board of Directors

August 18, 2022