

Minutes

Electoral Area "I" Advisory Planning Commission

Meeting of Wednesday August 17, 2022

Location: Kaleden Community Hall, 320 Lakehill Road

Present:

Members: Subrina Monteith, Director, Electoral Area "I"

Mike Gane – Acting Chair Whitney Wynn - Secretary

Bruce Shepherd Darlene Bailey Robert Handfield

Absent: Adele Dewar

Andrew Allin

Chris Struthers - Chair

Sandie Wilson

Delegates: Jeff Gagnon, Okanagan Development Consultants

Mike Nield, Okanagan Development Consultants

Michael Medeiros, Applicant

Recording Secretary: Whitney Wynn

1. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 pm.

1.1 MOTION

It was Moved and Seconded that the Agenda be adopted with the following additions:

4.1 Minimum Parcel Size of Existing Lots for New Sewerage

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

2. ADOPTION OF MINUTES

2.1 MOTION

It was Moved and Seconded by the APC that the Minutes of July 20, 2022 be approved.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. DEVELOPMENT APPLICATIONS

3.1 <u>Development Variance Permit Application No. I2022.013-DVP</u>

Presentation by Okanagan Development Consultants.

Discussion.

MOTION

THAT the APC recommends to the RDOS Board that the proposed development application be **denied**.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3.2 Zoning Bylaw Amemendment Application No. I2022.013-ZONE

Presentation by Michael Medeiros.

Discussion.

MOTION

THAT the APC recommends to the RDOS Board that the subject development application be **approved**.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4. OTHER

4.1 Minimum Parcel Size of Existing Lots for New Sewerage

Discussion.

As the RDOS Board is supporting the OBWB and the Province in their shared goal of improving the long-term health of the Okanagan watershed through the application of the "1.0 Hectare Policy" to its various land use bylaws (i.e. Official Community Plans, Zoning and Subdivision Servicing) as well as a policy statement in the Regional Growth Strategy (RGS) Bylaw that "encourages publicly operated utilities and discourage the establishment of private utilities and services".

MOTION

THAT the Area I APC recommends to the RDOS Board that no new structures requiring new sewerage be allowed on existing lots smaller than 0.14 acre (0.057 hectares). This would limit sewerage numbers to those that are already in existence and not add any new sewerage systems. This would maintain the essence of the OBWB/Province/RDOS agreement.

CARRIED

5. ADJOURNMENT

5.1 MOTION

It was Moved and Seconded that the meeting be adjourned at 6:16 pm.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

<u>Mike Gane</u>

Advisory Planning Commission Vice-Chair (Acting Chair)

Whitney Wynn

Advisory Planning Commission Recording Secretary / minute taker