

Minutes

Electoral Area "E" Advisory Planning Commission

Meeting of Monday, August 14, 2023 at 1:00 p.m. RDOS Board Room, 101 Martin Street, Penticton BC V2A 5J9 and RDOS WebEx

Present:

Members: Norbert Lacis (as Chair), Heather Fleck, Maureen

Redman, Cheryl Berry via WebEx, Cam Gunning, Steve Creamer left meeting at 2:58 p.m., quorum maintained

returned to meeting at 2:59 p.m.

Absent: Laura Keebaugh

Staff: Shannon Duong (RDOS Planner II), Fiona Titley (RDOS

Planner II) left meeting at 1:49 p.m., Christopher Garrish (RDOS, Planning Manager), Ben Kent (RDOS, Planner II) left meeting at 2:09 p.m., Andrew Reeder (RDOS, Senior

Manager of Solid Waste) arrived to meeting at 1:42 p.m.

left meeting at 2:58 p.m.

Guests: Adrienne Fedrigo (RDOS, Area "E" Director)

Recording Secretary: Heather Lemieux

Delegates: Cal Meiklejohn (Meiklejohn Architects Inc.) left meeting at

1:38 p.m., Lawrence Josey left meeting at 2:09 p.m.

1. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

The meeting was called to order at 1:03 p.m. Quorum Present.

MOTION

It was Moved and Seconded THAT the Agenda for the Electoral Area "E" Advisory Planning Commission (APC) meeting of August 14, 2023 be adopted as presented.

CARRIED/UNANIMOUSLY

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

MOTION

It was Moved and Seconded THAT the Minutes of the July 10, 2023 Electoral Area "E" Advisory Planning Commission (APC) meeting be adopted as presented.

CARRIED/UNANIMOUSLY

3. DELEGATIONS

- 3.1 MAD Studio Zoning Bylaw Amendment E2023.002-ZONE
- 3.2 Josey Development Variance Permit E2023.020-DVP
- 3.3 RDOS Zoning Bylaw Amendment E2023.008-ZONE
- 3.4 Unsworth Zoning Bylaw Amendment E2023.005-ZONE

4. DEVELOPMENT APPLICATIONS

4.1 Zoning Amendment Bylaw Application - E2023.002-ZONE Administrative Report submitted by Fiona Titley, Planner II

MOTION

It was Moved and Seconded in favour of the Administrative Recommendation THAT the proposed amendments to the Okanagan Valley Zoning Bylaw No. 2800, 2022, to allow the development of an accessory dwelling at 3205 Rushbury Place, Naramata, be denied.

Three (3) Area "E" APC members voted in favour of the motion, three (3) members voted against.

DEFEATED

4.2 Development Variance Permit Application - E2023.020-DVP Administrative Report Submitted by Ben Kent, Planner II

MOTION

It was Moved and Seconded in favour of the Administrative Recommendation THAT Development Variance Permit No. E2023.020-DVP, to formalize an indoor cannabis production building at 2864 Arawana Road, Naramata, be approved.

CARRIED/UNANIMOUSLY

4.3 Zoning Amendment Bylaw Application - E2023.008-ZONE Administrative Report Submitted by Shannon Duong, Planner II

MOTION

It was Moved and Seconded in favour of the Administrative Recommendation THAT the Okanagan Valley Zoning Amendment Bylaw No. 2800.24, 2023, be supported.

CARRIED/UNANIMOUSLY

4.4 Zoning Amendment Bylaw Application - E2023.005-ZONE Administrative Report Submitted by Shannon Duong, Planner II

Area "E" APC member S. Creamer recused, quorum maintained.

MOTION

It was Moved and Seconded in favour of deferring Zoning Amendment Bylaw Application - E2023.005-ZONE to the October 10, 2023 Area "E" APC meeting.

CARRIED/UNANIMOUSLY

5. OTHER

- **5.1** APC Bylaw No. 2339 5.1 Chair of the Commission Election of the Chair, Vice-Chair, and Secretary
 - A. Fedrigo (RDOS, Area "E" Director) called for Nominations for Chair.
 - N. Lacis accepted nomination for Chair of the Area "E" APC.

MOTION

It was Moved and Seconded THAT N. Lacis be nominated and elected as Chair of the Area "E" APC.

CARRIED/UNANIMOUSLY

6. ADJOURNMENT

6.1 Adjourned at 3:00 p.m.

Next Meeting — September 11, 2023

Norbert Lacis, Chair, Electoral Area "E" Advisory Planning Commission	
Heather Lémieux, Advisory Planning Commission Recording Secretary / m	ninute taker